1 February, 2011 11:27

Colossians 1:3 We always thank God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, in our prayers for you.

What a great way to start any conversation/letter! No matter the occasion – good or bad that thanksgiving comes first. This challenges my faithlife especially when I want to see change in someone or am at odds with them, I don’t thank God first.

This also reminds me of the devotional advice from Martin Luther to start a devotional response to a Bible reading by finding something in the reading for which to praise or thank God. That’s a good habit and changes the way I see a challenging event or a situation or even a person in my life. (one of the four questions we ask of our daily Bible readings shared by Martin Luther – Thanks, Ask-what is God asking of me, Repent-for what do I need to repent and Pray – for whom am I inspired to pray).

Published in: on February 1, 2011 at 11:27 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://treasuryofdailyprayer.wordpress.com/2011/02/01/1-february-2011-1127/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

