Mainstream

A title given that doesn’t apply to the LCMS. Nothing about mainstream refers to conservative values, perhaps it used to some generations ago. Nothing out there wants to be mainstream, everything wants to be evolutionary, revolutionary and yet applicable and relevant. Some are peddling product and some a set of beliefs. I don’t want to be mainstream because I want truth not evolutionary, wishy washy truth-sounding bites, I want to start with Gods truth and work out the difficulty of living out truth in the terribly hard and complex world.

I’d rather have a foundation in a Bible that calls itself a word of God rather than the feeble managerie of wisdom bits gathered by a limited experience, narrow minded human being working me with their agenda. I don’t know where that puts Lutherans, not a main stream but certainly a stream of waters where the people who come there are refreshed with the truth that says I need God because I am broken by sin and I have a God who remakes me by the power of forgiveness in the cross of Jesus Christ. Teach me Your truth.

Published in: on September 11, 2010 at 10:50 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://treasuryofdailyprayer.wordpress.com/2010/09/11/mainstream/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

