Seeing what was Sung

Grains of Wheat

Readings for August 4th

I was visiting a woman who is reaching the end of her life and sharing with her these readings.  I didn’t read everything but since we were about to have communion I read from the Didache.  I started reading the part, “as this piece of bread was scattered over the hills and then was brought together and made one, so let your Church be brought together from the ends of the earth into your Kingdom.”  Normally my readings don’t have a soundtrack especially when no music is playing but I started to hear “As the Grains of Wheat” as I had sung it many times before, not in my present ministry but years ago.  It is startling how memory works and the strange places you find for its source.  Today the stimulus was the Didache and so my mind was singing,

“As the grains of wheat once scattered on the hill were gathered into one to become our bread.  So may all your people from all the ends of earth be gathered into one in you.”  – Marty Haugen

Published in: on August 5, 2010 at 12:46 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://treasuryofdailyprayer.wordpress.com/2010/08/05/seeing-what-was-sung/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

