Readings for June 25th – Breakfast on the Beach

Breakfast on the Beach – John 21

Yeah, that’s what I picture too, and since I live in Hawaii that’s what I have everyday right?  Not quite.  In fact “the beach” is much more my office, kinda like it was for the disciples today.  The beach and the water didn’t represent recreation for them it was where they plied their trade.  Even when living in Hawaii your life is reduced to home, commute, work, repeat.  For the disciples their trade was their escape from what they thought their life might be as disciples of Jesus.  Jesus had died and now they slide back into the status quo – fishing.

Their was something much more important for them to do, especially told to Peter, “feed my sheep.”  Oddly for me I’m going to the beach, I am going to kick my feet up and I may even have breakfast there but this time it is for recreation.  However along with rejuvenation and time will come the visits of my personal demons, yes even on the sands of the Hawaiian shore, and then I will turn to the one who is there right alongside of me, my shepherd, who will offer forgiveness and, when the time of recreation is over, commission me back to my vocation to “feed His sheep.”

Published in: on June 24, 2010 at 9:12 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://treasuryofdailyprayer.wordpress.com/2010/06/24/readings-for-june-25th-breakfast-on-the-beach/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

