Readings for June 5th

Here, my son, your father’s instruction, and forsake not your mother’s teaching, for they are a graceful garland for your head and pendants for your neck.    Proverbs 1:8-9

I like this neat picture of a haku lei and a lei being a symbol of the picture the teaching from our parents.  The wisdom goes on to urge the child not to fall in with those who choose a life of easy and unjust gain.  Here is a Biblical precedent for lei, I think that’s great.  This would also be a great verse for Confirmation (publicly affirming your faith) since it gives honor to the parents role too.

“unjust gain takes away the life of its possessors” Proverbs 1:19

I found this interesting because an inanimate object has the power to take life.  In a shortsighted way I’ve always hoped for this for the many things that were stolen from me.  I hoped that the items would be a curse to those who took them.  However I fail to see my own sin too.  Unjust gain begins to hit home when I see the things in my life that I have used, even with the intention to use them for God’s glory, that I had no right to use.  How could God bless that?  But I move from short sighted to long sighted when I consider the fact that unjust gain challenges the very nature of my use of resources compared to that of most of the world.  When I feel that life is taken away what is the cause?  Time to examine my life.

Published in: on June 5, 2010 at 10:27 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://treasuryofdailyprayer.wordpress.com/2010/06/05/readings-for-june-5th/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

