Readings for the Monday after Easter

Psalm 13 – interesting choice “How long, O Lord?  Will you forget me forever?”

The day after Easter I suspect many pastors and church workers are feeling tired after one of the busiest weeks of the year.  After the celebration of how Jesus conquered death I hope that even in the midst of being tired that they are feeling closer to God not forgotten.  One story from the pews during Easter points to that great victory, a child whose father rarely comes to church kept declaring victoriously, “Jesus is back!  Jesus is back!”  The very young child had caught on to the victory at hand on Easter and shared it boldly with everyone around.  That makes me smile.

Exodus 15:1 “I will sing to the Lord, for he has triumphed gloriously, the horse and rider he has thrown into the sea.”

We celebrated this victory in the Exodus on Maundy Thursday, I still hear the song in my ears as I read this verse.  God intervenes on behalf of His people, never left alone, never forgotten.  God triumphed gloriously!  Jesus is back!

Many people gave up something for Lent, don’t forget the last step in this important time after Lent, do I really need what I gave up?  Should I really return to eating, using, doing it?  Sometimes the answer is obvious.  But consider this, having less in your life doesn’t mean that life can’t be fuller without it.  Keep that in mind before returning to old habits.

Published in: on April 5, 2010 at 9:22 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://treasuryofdailyprayer.wordpress.com/2010/04/05/readings-for-monday-after-easter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

