Readings for February 18th

“Though he slay me, I will hope in him”  Job 13:15a

I had the honor of a sermon for Ash Wednesday from the pastor of our pastors.  Bob Newton, president of the CNH district, shared a message about the trust Jesus had in His Father.  The most poignant reminder for me was the combination of two statements from the cross “Why have you forsaken me?” with “Into your hands I commend my spirit.”  A forsaken Son divided from His Father, in fact God divided against Himself must have been incredibly painful and completely foreign in the unity they have shared for eternity,  and yet the trust in the Father whose will led Jesus to the cross remained through that isolation so that Jesus gave His Spirit into the Father’s hands.

I hear that trust foreshadowed and echoed in Job’s statement today.  In pain and suffering, in the dark times when God is distant do I continue to trust.  Would I put my life in the hands of the person that I feel has pushed me away?  Thank God that because of Jesus Christ I am never truly forsaken.

Published in: on February 18, 2010 at 11:31 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://treasuryofdailyprayer.wordpress.com/2010/02/18/readings-for-february-18th/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. To me the book of Job is one of the hardest books for me to read! I yearn to jump in this story and apply calamine lotion to Job and wrap him up in a huge ace bandage. It makes me angry to see his supposed “friends” accuse him of wrong doing. Yet the book of Job is so inspirational too! In the midst of Job’s suffering he holds fast to his faith in God. May we all be inspired by this great mans faith!

  2. Pastor Newton was a great blessing!! I am so glad that I got to attend the Ash Wednesday service. It is truly amazing that Christ sacrificed Himself on our behalf. He who was without sin became sin for us and died in our place. So that we could live! 🙂 Job was so right to put his hope in God!


Leave a Reply

