Readings for January 19th

“who walks blamelessly…who swears to his own hurt and does not change”  Psalm 15:2 and 4 edited.

Swearing to my own hurt is me hitting my toe in the dark or when my tongue shells out words from my past in front of my children so that I spend the next few minutes explaining to them why you never talk that way and asking for their forgiveness (humbling for a dad).  But unfortunately that kind of swearing doesn’t fall into the “blameless” category.  It hurts when what I believe runs smack into the cultural values of the world that says “keep quiet”, “get along,” “live and let live,” “keep your beliefs off my ears.”  I am supposed to speak, supposed to point to a faithful God, supposed to look for those places where God wants me to speak, swear and declare who the God is that I believe in and even to my hurt to whom I swear my allegiance.  Swearing to my hurt!

Published in: on January 18, 2010 at 6:00 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://treasuryofdailyprayer.wordpress.com/2010/01/18/readings-for-january-19th/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

