Readings for January 17th

Warfare – not a popular term right now.  War is the reality of our broken lives.  A world torn in two by terrorism, beliefs, resources, greed and just plain sinful desire to fight when nothing else makes sense.

Warfare is a term of truth for my life.  I want things that are contradictory to God.  I fight for the things that will not help me in the end.  Martin Luther writes in a very dangerous way (because misquoting would be so easy), “For Christ is my devil…against the devil.”  I can just see that being taken out of context however what hope is in that phrase.  Jesus is willing to fight with every tool and power against the devil and anything that tries to separate us from God.  Jesus is fighting that battle for me right now.  Thank you!  I look forward to that day pictures by your prophet Ezekiel – where all those weapons of war will serve as enough kindling for a week.  I look forward to the end of the warfare both for the world and in me.

Published in: on January 16, 2010 at 6:00 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://treasuryofdailyprayer.wordpress.com/2010/01/16/readings-for-january-17th/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

