Readings for January 13th

Ezekiel 36:26-27 “I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you.  And I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.  And I will put my Spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my statutes and be careful to obey my rules.”

Who could have known just how “new” God meant?!  New as in, never been done before, so radically different you can’t even dream it, such a change the implications won’t be understood until the end of time.  God radically moved his model of inhabitation from visitor to the patriarchs to inhabitor of the temple to the radically different hearts of each person who believes.  God moves from correctives and covenants along the journey of the patriarchs to the tablets of stone from Sinai to a Spirit that causes the statutes of God to be understood.  The Spirit is given by God to live in us.  That’s new and until Jesus comes again what will happen because of this new heart and God’s Spirit is still yet to be fully known.

Published in: on January 12, 2010 at 6:00 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://treasuryofdailyprayer.wordpress.com/2010/01/12/readings-for-january-13th/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I am going through the new member’s class at my church. We studied these exact verses from Ezekiel in our class this week. I love that part in Ezekiel 36:26. I am so glad that Jesus has removed my heart of stone and given me a heart of flesh and given me His Spirit!


Leave a Reply

