Readings for January 12th

Psalm 63 – a picture comes to mind.  David ruling Israel is faced with all kinds of maliciousness from the people around him.  Hearing and seeing the effects of lies told about him must have hit him hard.  I see David having very few outlets for the kind of pain that caused, the only truly effective one was taking those pains and putting them before God.  Closing the doors and writing them down, I wonder if he shouted at the same time?

A great description of the action we are called to take with this world: strengthen the weak, heal the sick, bind up the injured, bring back the ones who stray, seek out the lost (Ezekiel 34:4) is our calling as we follow the lead of Jesus who says “I (myself) will seek out my sheep”  “I will seek the lost, I will bring back the strayed, I will bind up the injured, I will strengthen the weak, and the fat and the strong I will destroy.”

Published in: on January 11, 2010 at 6:00 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://treasuryofdailyprayer.wordpress.com/2010/01/11/readings-for-january-12th/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Before reading this blog I used to think Ezekiel was hard to understand! I love reading this blog what a beautiful picture of how Jesus loves us! 🙂


Leave a Reply

