Readings for January 5th

“They shall build houses and inhabit them” (Isaiah 65:21) – the opposite of this is a curse.   I learn something about blessing by this phrase.  You get to see, use and enjoy the results of your work.  Enjoying the fruits of your labor in the household and in your work.

Maybe we don’t recognize the curse in our lives when we see no fruit.  No results, no fruit, no joy returned to us from our labor, that is accursed.

God takes this phrase of blessing from Isaiah and takes blessing to a new level.  Prayer (that Luther encouraged in the Jan 4 writing) is taking the time to talk to God.  Working at your relationship with God.  God does more than bless in this case “before they call I will answer; while they are yet speaking I will hear.”  Blessings comes even before asking or working!  Wow!

I have to ask myself because of this reading is there anything in my life that isn’t producing fruit, where my labor dead ends, where my labor comes to nothing?  If so, I need to confess my sin to God and ask for a new start.

Published in: on January 4, 2010 at 6:00 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://treasuryofdailyprayer.wordpress.com/2010/01/04/readings-for-january-5th/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

