Readings for January 2nd

“For God alone my soul waits in silence” – my favorite line. Nothing about my life is about silence. I’m sure I take it for granted but the amount of noise around my house at bedtime is very little, not much street noise or sounds from the neighbors. Even then my mind is not silent. This is a verse that will take some practice but is well worth it considering the one who shares that time with me – God.

I found the history of Pastor Loehe very interesting, sounds like a man who considered the needs of people very much beyond his own world and borders. Thank God for that.

Published in: on January 1, 2010 at 6:00 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://treasuryofdailyprayer.wordpress.com/2010/01/01/readings-for-january-2nd/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I found todays reading from Isaiah very interesting. I couldn’t help but notice the analogy of a marriage in this reading. Christ is represented as our Heavenly Groom and the church is the bride.I read an article in Christianity Today once that said people take these passages in scripture to literally. We as christians shouldn’t think of ourselves as married to Christ. As a single women I love the analogy of being married to Christ! In fact one of my favorite hymns is The Church Is One Foundation because of the groom and bride analogy in that song. The article in Christianity Today made me question this belief. I didn’t want to be caught up in wrong thinking and emotionalism which is what the article stated I was doing. Does any one have any thoughts on this?

    I love this passage that Lohe wrote: In worship the congregation experiences its Lord most intimately. Here it lives in nearest proximity to its Groom in a heavenly life on earth, an eartly life in heaven. Worship is the most beautiful flower of earthly life.

  2. “For God alone my soul waits in silence” – my favorite line. Nothing about my life is about silence. I’m sure I take it for granted but the amount of noise around my house at bedtime is very little, not much street noise or sounds from the neighbors. Even then my mind is not silent. This is a verse that will take some practice and worth it to considering the one who shares it with me – God.

    I found the history of Pastor Loehe very interesting, sounds like a man who considered the needs of people very much beyond his own world and borders. Thank God for that.


Leave a Reply

